Ivybridge Heritage Published Articles

Stowford Mill Published Article

STOWFORD PAPER MILL

A brief history of this important employer in Ivybridge. It manufactured high quality paper for 226 years before closing at the end of 2013.

Henry John Fice Lee Published Article

HENRY JOHN FICE LEE

Mr Lee was a prominent member of the community of Ivybridge, serving on the Urban District Council as well as being a successful businessman running a flour and provender mill in the heart of the village.

London Hotel Published Article.

THE LONDON HOTEL

Established in the 1780s, the London Inn was conveniently located on the main coach road. It remained an hotel in Ivybridge until the 1990s.

Local Government Published Article.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT

An overview of the development of local government in Ivybridge and the siting of boundary stones marking the area of jurisdiction.

M Willcocks

MARY WILLCOCKS

Mary Patricia Willcocks has been described as Devon’s forgotten feminist.  She was born at Cleeve, near Ivybridge.

Aeroplane named after Ivybridge

IVYBRIDGE AEROPLANE

In 1918 as part of an initiative to raise money for the war effort an incentive was given to Ivybridge. If the local association was able to secure investments in War Bonds and War Savings Certificates totalling £4,500, an aeroplane would be named after the village.

Football Portals AFC

PORTALS ATHLETIC AFC

Portals Athletic Football Club has origins dating back to 1923 but the club’s real heyday was during the 1950s and 1960s when they achieved outstanding success.

Navvies building viaduct

NAVVIES IN IVYBRIDGE

The task of building  a new viaduct in Ivybridge during the late nineteenth century was very labour intensive. The name for workmen constructing the railways was “navvies” and the 1891 Ivybridge census recorded a significant number of ‘workmen in temporary residence, engaged in the upgrading and double tracking of the Great Western Railway’.

New World Tapestry and WI

NEW WORLD TAPESTRY

In 1980, a project got underway to create a tapestry depicting England’s attempts to colonise Newfoundland, North America, the Guianas and Bermuda, between the years 1583 and 1642. One of the 24 panels was produced in Ivybridge by volunteers from the Women’s Institute.

War Memorial unveiling in Ivybridge

ARMISTICE

On the morning of 11 November 1918 the ringing of the large bell in Ivybridge apprised the village that the Armistice with Germany had been signed. On 24th September 1922, a war memorial was unveiled remembering all those who had paid the ultimate sacrifice.

PO Services in Ivybridge

POSTAL SERVICES IN IVYBRIDGE

As Post Offices provided a focal point for the community they needed to be in a prominent position. At the turn of the 20th century Ivybridge had a new Post Office located at 49-50 Fore Street

WS Issue

SHAKESPEARE POSTAGE STAMP PAPER MADE IN IVYBRIDGE

In April 1964, the General Post Office issued a set of stamps commemorating the quatercentenary of William Shakespeare’s birth. It comprised of a set of five denominations depicting scenes from some of his famous plays.

Mapping

EARLY ORDNANCE SURVEY MAPPING IN AND NEAR IVYBRIDGE

Our national mapping agency, the Ordnance Survey, began its work in south east England in the late 1700s. The principal man in the field was William Mudge from a Plymouth family

WI Ivy

THE WOMENS INSTITUTE IN IVYBRIDGE

The WI started in Anglesey in 1915 with a mission to revitalise rural communities and encourage women to become involved in food production. A WI group was formed in Ivybridge in 1920.

TE

TELECOMMUNICATIONS IN IVYBRIDGE

In 1912 the General Post Office branched out into telephone services when it bought the system from the National Telephone Company. The telephone exchange for Ivybridge was located above the Post Office and remained there until the early 1960s

shops

SHOPS IN IVYBRIDGE

Visitors to Fore Street in Ivybridge at the turn of the 20th century would be greeted by a plethora of small traditional shops ranging from butchers, bakers, grocers and hardware stores. Also, reflecting a dependence on horses, saddle and harness makers and indeed blacksmiths

KArms

THE KING’S ARMS HOTEL

An inn has existed on the current site since 1830. At that time it was one of four inns located in Ivybridge

WCtn

WILLIAM COTTON III

William Cotton is one of the more famous residents of Ivybridge. He moved to Ivybridge in 1839 having purchased the lease at Highland House

Pcds

POSTCARDS FROM IVYBRIDGE

At the turn of the century an enterprising shopkeeper and keen photographer, Charles Smallridge, developed his own local postcard business